My friend, Mackers texted me to say that he has the week off and, if I was at a loose end, asked if I fancied doing anything. Knowing that he normally would get the train or bus to Paignton, I suggested getting the train to Truro for the day, a journey of an hour and twenty minutes, or so. I couldn’t believe that, even though he’d lived in Plymouth all his life, he had never been to Truro.

Mackers, upon checking the price of the tickets on-line, using First Great Western’s own website, found it to be about twenty quid. That was way too much, so I checked The Train Line dot com and found them to be nine-fifty, plus a pound each booking fee, half the price of FGW, so I bought these instead.

The journey was made on a two-car dmu (diesel multiple unit), which didn’t have the comfort or facilities of a HST, but did its job, albeit in an ambling sort of way.
Actually, this was all the better to see some of the outstanding views along the way and I wished I had my camera ready, on this beautiful, sunny spring morning. Here’s a brief list:
Devonport Dockyard , where an aircraft carrier was being positioned by tugs at Rubble Wharf; Royal Albert Bridge, with views down the Tamar; Lynher and St German’s river estuaries at low-tide; Moorswater viaduct at Liskeard, with views down the Looe River and Looe railway line; the valley leading through to Bodmin; Par and St Austell (blue and white tower-block aside).

With my thick brown corduroy coat on, I’d felt a little over-dressed in Plymouth, but, as we approached Truro, dirty grey cloud covered the scene like a wet blanket, and my shoes leak! You can always rely on the great British weather and, besides, it’s why we have such green fields, after all. Still, weather has never curtailed my enjoyment of anything, and it isn’t going to start doing so now.

We walked down to the town from the railway station, whose automatic barriers swallowed our tickets/souvenirs. The first stop we made, along the way was at the Royal Cornwall Museum (a must see); this is an absolute gem, and it’s free! I made a small donation in one of the collection boxes. I was nicely surprised that Mackers enjoyed much of it, too, and we spent over an hour poring over exhibits.

Our next port of call was the beautiful cathedral; enough’s been written about it so I won’t bore anybody with further writing here (but put it on your list, if you haven’t already been).

The Pannier Market, although not huge, is varied enough and well laid out.

We crossed Lemon Quay and headed into Wetherspoon’s for some food and a beer. At £5.10, the Burger and Beer is excellent value for money. I realise there are some people who are against discount pubs but, to me, what Wetherspoon’s do they do well, and you know what you’re getting. Plus, they champion real ales and ciders.

After some fortification, we pootled around a few shops in town for a while before heading back to the railway station, via another couple of pubs (William IV and the Pen&Wig), where St Austell’s Brewery’s Tribute Ale was excellent in both, even though the Cornish Rattler Cider was rather tempting.
Next time I’m in Truro I must be sure to visit Skinner’s Brewery and sample some of their ales.

The train journey back was scenic again and the rain had laid off, all day.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

